May 28, 2021

University of Montevallo fishing team wins School of the Year

The University of Montevallo’s bass fishing team topped more than 200 collegiate fishing programs throughout the nation during the 2020-2021 season to earn the distinction of the Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia.

Throughout the year, the UM fishing team competed in many tournaments against some of the largest universities in the nation and earned points based on their performance. Following the final tournament of the season at Lake Murray in South Carolina on May 27, UM had amassed the most cumulative points of any team in the nation, taking home the team’s first School of the Year honor.

During a dominant season, the UM team, which is a part of the UM President’s Outdoor Scholars Program, took over the top ranking in the national standings in November 2020 and never relinquished its lead.

Montevallo, which finished second in last season’s School of the Year rankings, knocked off two-time defending national champion McKendree University of Lebanon, Illinois, and topped large universities such as the University of Tennessee, Auburn University and East Carolina University en route to this year’s national crown.

“I am extremely proud of what this team has accomplished. These guys have been so focused since the season started,” said Outdoor Scholars Program Director and bass team campus advisor William Crawford. “We had the goal at the beginning of the year to be the number-one team in the country, and since November they have done just that.”

To view the full national standings for the 2020-2021 season, click here.

The following students were on the 2020-2021 UM bass fishing team:


Justin Barnes Senior Monroeville, AL
Jarrett Brown Senior Montevallo, AL
Adam Carroll Senior Carrollton, GA
Tyler Harless Senior Helena, AL
Miller Spivey Senior Tyler, AL
Hunter Ward Senior Rockford, AL
Weston Hollar Junior Dadeville, AL
Jack Baron Junior Arnold, MD
Cal Culpepper Junior Hamilton, GA
Trey Dickert Junior Greer, SC
Cade Holcomb Junior Helena, AL
Bradley Martin Junior Pace, FL
Da’Kendrick Patterson Junior Ramer, AL
Kopeland Rosser Junior Helena, AL
Elliot Torode Junior Montgomery, AL
Drew Traffanstedt Junior Hoover, AL
Mason Waddell Junior Waverly Hall, GA
Cole Dodson Sophomore Gardendale, AL
Merritt Arnold Sophomore Warkinsville, GA
Jaxson Brown Sophomore Birminghman, AL
Tyler Cain Sophomore Bessemer, AL
Josiah Campbell Sophomore Pelham, AL
Solomon Glenn Sophomore Lakeville, MN
Wesley Gore Sophomore Clanton, AL
Trent Jones Sophomore Thorsby, AL
Ethan King Sophomore Wilsonville, AL
Grayson Morris Sophomore Birmingham, AL
Chandler Olivier Sophomore Maylene, AL
Griffin Phillips Sophomore Mount Olive, AL
Chance Schwartz Sophomore Ball Ground, GA
James Willoughby Sophomore Gulfport, MS
Kyle Bahr Freshman Brainerd, MN
Aaron Cherry Freshman Kinsey, AL
Tyler Cory Freshman Amherst, WI
Nick Dumke Freshman Grand Rapids, MN
Tanner English Freshman Centreville, AL
Easton Fothergill Freshman Grand Rapids, MN
Brenton Godwin Freshman Stapleton, AL
Brock Gullixon Freshman Iola, WI
Chandler Holt Freshman Sterrett, AL
Andrew Howell Freshman Pisgah Forest, NC
Tommy Loper Freshman Perkinston, MS
Hagan Marlin Freshman Opelika, AL
Hunter Odom Freshman Chunchula, AL
Jordan Pennington Freshman Bessemer, AL
Jacob Pfundt Freshman Canton, GA
Jackson Pontius Freshman Wilsonville, AL
Scott Sledge Freshman Greenwood, IN
Davian Smith Freshman Eufaula, AL
Ryan Thomas Freshman Madison, GA
Riley Underwood Freshman Hoover, AL