March 8, 2016

College Of Education Honor 2016 Awards Recipients

Montevallo, Ala. – The University of Montevallo College of Education recently recognized their 2016 Outstanding Alumnus Award honorees during a special dinner during recent homecoming celebrations.

The College of Education traditionally awards one alumnus in each area of study that are nominated by faculty and alumni. The 2016 College of Education Outstanding Award recipients are:

Wendy Avery, Elementary Education

Kim Bailey, School Counseling

Kim Brindley, Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Matt Bunt, Couples and Family Counseling

Andy Carpenter, Instructional Leadership, M.Ed.

Lee Ann Clark, Family and Consumer Sciences

Tim Cobb, Teacher Leadership

Amber Deline, Kineseology

Tonia Jones, Elementary Collaborative

Jake Parker, Secondary Education

Valerie Eubanks Tarn, Nutrition and Wellness

Anna Theros, Traditional Education

Dr. Michael Wilson, Instructional Leadership, Ed.S.

A special Lifetime Commitment to Education Award was given to Pat Scales, who also had a special collection of children’s literature dedicated during homecoming festivities. Scales is a 1966 UM graduate, a past President of the Association of Library Service for Children and has served as chair of the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, and Wilder Award Committees.


About The University of Montevallo


The University of Montevallo seeks to be unique in higher education in Alabama, by providing students from throughout the state an affordable, geographically accessible, “small college” public higher educational experience of high quality. Settled within an atmosphere of national historic beauty and offering a tradition of innovative cultural expression, we seek to provide professional programs supported by a broad base of arts and sciences that are designed for intellectual and personal growth in the pursuit of meaningful employment and responsible, informed citizenship.